A Bumpy Ride!

I woke up this morning in a bit of a funk. I actually got 8 hours of sleep, which is more than I’ve gotten any night since we’ve been here. I think the lack of exercise, the overall exhaustion, the stress of the project and missing my family has finally taken it’s toll. Given all of this…the gorgeous sunny day brightened my mood and I was able to take a little bit of “me” time today. 🙂 We also got out in the afternoon for a quick trip to a local market and then a yummy dinner this evening. It was good to be out of the hotel a bit more today than the past few days.

Check out the beautiful blue sky I woke up to! It’s the prettiest I’ve seen since we’ve been here. It’s supposed to be just as nice on Saturday…and we’re taking a little break from work so I’m really looking forward to enjoying the beauty of the day.

IMG_2383

The trees and plants are also starting to bloom so it’s really starting to feel like spring. Of course I’m missing spring at home right now…although it is currently snowing with 10” of snow in the mountains. Too bad I’m not at home skiing, but regardless of feeling a bit out of sorts…there’s honestly no place else I’d rather be right now.

IMG_2475

The remainder of the morning was full of work…work…work. That is why I’m here after all! Fortunately we were able to get out of the office a bit for a visit to a local market. It takes place once every 5 days and we were lucky enough to visit it today. It was truly amazing. There were so many locals selling grains, buckwheat and other yummies for us to enjoy.

DSC05606 copy

IMG_2398 IMG_2405 IMG_2416 IMG_2417 IMG_2429

Vince – I was good and didn’t spend too much money. I did get a few surprises for Olivia. 🙂 She’s going to love her new goodies.

IMG_2649

We picked up some snacks. They’re called ppeongtwigi in Korean, or puffed grain in English. They’re a little sweet but mostly just plain good! We have lots for the team to enjoy…it just may take us all week to eat them. Oh and the whole bag only cost 5,000 Won. That’s about $5. Not too shabby for a large bag of treats!

IMG_2403

There are always so many interesting things to see at open-air markets. I just love all the colors and flavors. And I love experiencing all the sights, sounds and smells. So much fun!

IMG_2453 IMG_2469 IMG_2450 IMG_2452

The team had a blast wandering through the market.

IMG_2421

We saw fresh omija. This was the five taste fruit we had in our tea the other day. It’s amazing how the color of the fruit is so prevalent in the tea.

IMG_2435

Then there was the fish…

IMG_2443 IMG_2442 IMG_2414 IMG_2439 IMG_2413 IMG_2438

We even made a friend!

IMG_2461

There were even some interesting purchases. Justin and Antonio were eager for 7 year old ginseng…

IMG_2472 IMG_2644 IMG_2642

Upon our return to Phoenix Park I took a solo stroll through the beautiful grounds. I needed to get out of the teamroom and what better way to do it than to get outside and enjoy the warmth, the sun and the all around beautiful day. I was the only one out there and it was so peaceful and relaxing. Just what I needed to rejuvenate me!!

IMG_2528 IMG_2580 IMG_2539 IMG_2652

During my walk I came across a Mini driving up a hill…

IMG_2501

And 3 random bears in the middle of the ski slope…I’m not really sure what that’s about!

IMG_2601 IMG_2606

And lots of beautiful scenery. This is such a beautiful place!! I may never leave.

IMG_2551 IMG_2651 IMG_2581

After a little more work we headed out to dinner for Korean BBQ. Ji-Hyun has been promising us Korean BBQ for two weeks…and boy did she deliver!!! It was so good. Usually the meat is the appetizer. The wait staff comes around and asks you what you would like for your main course. We had to politely decline!

IMG_2622 IMG_2648 IMG_2627 IMG_2615

The team thoroughly enjoyed dinner…

IMG_2630 IMG_2632

Upon our departure from the restaurant we were intrigued by the incredibly clean elevator. 🙂

IMG_2637

At the end of the evening we made our plans for Saturday. We’re all heading to Gangneung to see the coast. Justin has decided to go off on his own to do a long bike ride. Given that he is braving the wilderness all by himself we equipped him with a survival note just in case. It translates to “Hello, I am Justin. I am lost. Ji-Hyun Sunny. Please call to them. Thank you! <heart>“ Justin was much amused!

IMG_2647

Comments Off on A Bumpy Ride!

Filed under Pyeongchang County - Korea

Comments are closed.