Lions and Tigers and Trout…Oh My!

All I can say is WOW! For lunch today we had the most spectacular trout! “Trout 5 ways” is what I like to call it. There’s a local farm that breeds the little fishies. They were first brought to this region 50 years ago and they are thriving, as is the farm. We met the owner and his wife and they treated us to the most amazing meal. Raw trout mixed with salad, sesame oil and spicy hot sauce; deep fried trout; whole cooked trout; trout nigiri; and trout soup. The soup and fried trout were so good I even forgot to take a picture. 🙂

IMG_2100

IMG_2102

IMG_2101

IMG_2104

IMG_2106

The fun part was visiting the trout in their natural habitat. We balanced on the walls surrounding the trout troughs (or so I like to call them) while trying not to fall in. I kept wondering what would happen if any of us missed a step and fell into the water with our nice dress clothes on. Fortunately we didn’t have to send anyone home for dry clothes. 🙂

IMG_2114

20150409_109-10-3

The day was beautiful as we enjoyed sunshine and warmer weather. The sun made for stunning photographs of the trout farm and surrounding property.

IMG_2115

20150409_109-62-4

IMG_2116

20150410_109-20-6

IMG_2117

IMG_2119

20150410_109-15-5

The Phoenix Park even had sun this morning when we left for the office. It’s finally starting to feel like spring.

IMG_2111

IMG_2112

Today was filled with work sessions as we are busy assimilating all the information we have been gathering all week. A late night tonight will allow us to play a bit tomorrow and enjoy more of this amazing country.

I learned about a “liger” today. It’s a mix between a male lion and a female tiger. Apparently they’re found right here at Everland Amusement Park in Korea. Who knew??!!!

liger

While working out this evening I witnessed a special site. From the gym I could see Antonio and Souvik walking towards the hotel. They were animated and seemed to be enjoying each others company. I smiled, thinking how nice it was to see my two new friends bonding in this beautiful environment we find as our home for three weeks. I realized then how much of an impact we are not only making on Pyeongchang and Korea but on each other. Our lives are forever changed by this experience and in that moment I was reminded of how lucky we are to be on this journey.

More team building this evening and now it’s time for bed. The Millet twins!

IMG_2118

Tomorrow holds a temple visit and making pizzas with underprivileged children. I’m so looking forward to spending the day with my IBM team and with our gracious hosts.

1 Comment

Filed under Pyeongchang County - Korea

One response to “Lions and Tigers and Trout…Oh My!

  1. Aly

    yayyy!!! wonderful!
    Osvaldo knows about Liger! He loves this stuff 😀