Mango Heaven

On Thursday, we took a trip to the Yujing district of Tainan, which is the major area where mangoes are grown.  As we stepped off the bus, we passed a roadside store selling mangoes.  The sweet smell was in the air, and I was unaware of how the day would progress.

Mango Shop

Mango Shop

We then walked through the town towards the wholesale market.  Here, they sold a variety of different mangoes.  The main mango that is in season at the moment is the Aiwan mango, also called the Irwan mango, which is close enough to my name meaning that I was approaching mango nirvana.  Apparently, this mango came to Taiwan in the 1950’s from Florida, where I was born and raised.

Mango Warehouse

Mango Warehouse

We purchased a bucket of mangoes for us to eat for the remainder of our stay here.  The cost for about 22 mangoes was 400 New Taiwan dollars, which corresponds to about USD $13.33, which is around 65 cents per mango.  In my local food store, I would pay over 5 times as much and they would not be as ripe.  We then proceeded to the “Mango Ice House”, where they use mango in a variety of dishes.  We had mango bread.  I had a chicken dish with a mango sauce. For dessert, there was mango pie, mango ice cream with mangoes over shaved ice, and mango pudding.  My mouth was watering and I kept eating.  Two days later and I still feel full from eating so much mango.  And I keep eating them whenever I can.  We are in the height of the mango season in Taiwan, and I’m truly in mango heaven eating these ripe and tasty mangoes!!!

Mango Bread

Mango Bread

Mango Pie

Mango Pie

Mango Ice Cream with mangoes over shaved ice

Mango Ice Cream with mangoes over shaved ice

Mango Pudding

Mango Pudding

1 Comment

Filed under Tainan, Taiwan

One response to “Mango Heaven

  1. Teresa Lin

    Hope you enjoyed the fresh mango there (…it is my favorite).